WEST VIRGINIA LEGISLATURE

REGULAR SESSION, 1951

ENROLLED SENATE BILL NO. 296 (By Mr/Miles

PASSED March

In Effect nel 1 days from Passage



ENROLLED Senate Bill No. 296

(By MR. MITCHELL)

[Passed March 10, 1951; in effect ninety days from passage.]

AN ACT to amend and reenact sections one and three, article two, chapter one of the code of West Virginia, one thousand nine hundred thirty-one, as amended, relating to apportionment of representation as to senatorial and congressional districts.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of West Virginia:

That sections one and three, article two, chapter one of the code of West Virginia, one thousand nine hundred thirty-one, as amended, be amended and reenacted to read as follows:

Section 1. Senatorial Districts.—The state shall con-2 sist of sixteen senatorial districts as follows:

3 The counties of Brooke, Hancock and Ohio shall con-4 stitute the first senatorial district;

Enr. S. B. No. 296]

5 The counties of Doddridge, Marshall, Tyler and Wetzel6 shall constitute the second senatorial district;

7 The counties of Calhoun, Pleasants, Ritchie, Wirt 8 and Wood shall constitute the third senatorial dis-9 trict;

10 The counties of Clay, Jackson, Mason, Putnam and11 Roane shall constitute the fourth senatorial district;

12 The counties of Cabell and Wayne shall constitute the13 fifth senatorial district;

14 The counties of McDowell and Mingo shall constitute15 the sixth senatorial district;

16 The counties of Boone, Lincoln and Logan shall con-17 stitute the seventh senatorial district;

18 The county of Kanawha shall constitute the eighth19 senatorial district;

20 The counties of Raleigh and Wyoming shall constitute 21 the ninth senatorial district;

22 The counties of Mercer, Monroe and Summers shall23 constitute the tenth senatorial district;

24 The counties of Fayette and Greenbrier shall con-25 stitute the eleventh senatorial district;

2

26 The counties of Braxton, Nicholas, Pendleton, Poca-27 hontas, Randolph and Webster shall constitute the 28 twelfth senatorial district;

29 The counties of Gilmer, Harrison and Lewis shall con-30 stitute the thirteenth senatorial district;

31 The counties of Marion and Monongalia shall consti-32 tute the fourteenth senatorial district;

33 The counties of Barbour, Grant, Preston, Taylor,
34 Tucker and Upshur shall constitute the fifteenth sena35 torial district; and

36 The counties of Berkeley, Hampshire, Hardy, Jefferson,
37 Mineral and Morgan shall constitute the sixteenth sena38 torial district.

Each of the said districts shall have two senators, and, regardless of the changes in district lines made by this act, the senators elected at the general election of one thousand nine hundred forty-eight and at the general election of one thousand nine hundred fifty shall continue to hold their seats as members of the senate for the term, and as representatives of the senatorial districts, for which each thereof, respectively, was elected.

3

Enr. S. B. No. 296]

47 One senator shall be nominated and elected at the 48 general election of one thousand nine hundred fifty-two 49 from each of the senatorial districts herein above de-50 scribed for a term of four years, and one shall be nomi-51 nated and elected from each of the said senatorial dis-52 tricts biennially thereafter for a term of four years.

Sec. 3. Congressional Districts.—The number of mem-2 bers to which the state is entitled in the house of rep-3 resentatives of the congress of the United States shall be 4 apportioned among the several counties of the state, 5 arranged into six congressional districts, numbered as fol-6 lows, that is to say:

7 First District: Brooke, Hancock, Marion, Marshall,8 Ohio, Taylor and Wetzel.

9 Second District: Barbour, Berkeley, Grant, Hampshire,
10 Hardy, Jefferson, Mineral, Monongalia, Morgan, Pendle11 ton, Pocahontas, Preston, Randolph, Tucker and Webster.
12 Third District: Braxton, Calhoun, Clay, Doddridge,
13 Fayette, Gilmer, Harrison, Lewis, Nicholas, Ritchie, Up14 shur and Wirt.

4

15 Fourth District: Cabell, Jackson, Lincoln, Mason,16 Pleasants, Putnam, Roane, Tyler, Wayne and Wood.

5

17 Fifth District: Greenbrier, Mercer, Mingo, Monroe,18 McDowell, Summers and Wyoming.

19 Sixth District: Boone, Kanawha, Logan and Raleigh.

Enr. S. B. No. 296]

6

The Joint Committee on Enrolled Bills hereby certifies that the foregoing bill is correctly enrolled.

Chairman Senate Committee

Chairman House Committee

Originated in the Senate.

an Takes effect un passage. Clerk of the Senate

Clerk of the House of Delegates

President of the Senate

Speaker House of Delegates

pproved this the The within a

, Land the ways with 1946

West Virginia

narc 1951. day of

Governor.

135

81 235

h

D. PITT O'BRIEN,

 $\sqrt{2} \lesssim 4 \frac{1}{2} \sqrt{2} \sqrt{2}$

nit.

SECRETARY OF STRAT

2